St. James Episcopal Church

101 N. 5th Street, Marshall, Minnesota 56258



Worship Services



2nd Sundays 10:30 am with Pastor Steve Quist

4th Summer Sundays 10:30 am

The Rev. Coleen Tully

Morning Prayer:

1st, 3rd, and if a 5th Sunday 10:30 am with Licensed Lay Worship Leaders

Vestry - Lay Leadership

Sue Fritz, Administrator, Altar Guild

Mike Martin, Evangelist & Licensed Lay Worship Leader

Bruce Louwagie, Sr. Warden & Licensed Lay Worship Leader

BC Franson, Jr. Warden & Licensed Lay Worship Leader

Rosemary Martin, Treasurer,  Lic. Lay Worship Leader& Eucharistic Visitor

Gary Fritz, Vestry & Eucharistic Minister

Charlotte Wendel, Vestry & ECMN Delegate

Episcopal News Service:

Calendar - Click on link

If you have church activities to post on the calendar email info to


Vestry- 3rd Sundays after church

Episcopal Church Women (ECW)

Dinner Bunch - Food and Fellowship monthly hosted and cohosted in people's homes

Men of St James (MOSJ)

Youth Group - Activities scheduled regularly. Charlotte Wendel and BC Franson Co-Leadership.

Contact Charlotte Wendel, or BC

Franson,, Youth Fellowship Leaders, for Youth Group Information

The Rt. Rev. Craig Loya was consecrated the X Bishop of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota on June 6, 2020.

Bishop Loya served as Dean of Trinity Cathedral in Omaha, Nebraska from 2013-2020, and was the Canon to the Ordinary in the Episcopal Diocese of Kansas from 2009-2013. He received his Master of Divinity from Yale University and a Diploma in Anglican Studies from Berkeley Divinity School at Yale in 2002. Joining Bishop Loya in Minnesota are his wife, Melissa, and their two children.

In the first two and a half years of his episcopate, Bishop Loya oversaw a diocese in the throes of the COVID-19 pandemic, pastored Minnesotans in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd and the attendant uprising, unrest, and trauma, joined people of all faiths from all over the country to bear witness to the damage to God’s creation caused by the installation of Line 3 at the headwaters of the Mississippi River, has spoken out against the unjust treatment of refugees and migrants held in the Bishop Whipple federal building, has affirmed that diversity of all kinds, including gender diversity, is a reflection of a humanity created in God’s image, and has inspired many with his deeply faithful call to join God’s project of healing the whole world with love.

Lay and Ordained Team Ministry

St James Episcopal Church, Marshall in southwest Minnesota is a small rural Shared Ministry parish,  where everyone in the parish family is given the opportunity to find and do the ministry to which God is calling them.

The call to local lay and ordained ministry is led by a Commissioned and Ordained Team that provides a sharing and caring leadership that Welcomes All to the Table.

           The Commissioned and Ordained Team

Susan Fritz, TM Administrator

Mike Martin, Evangelist

Lay Ministry


Bruce Louwagie, Sr. Warden

BC Franson, Jr. Warden

Rosemary Martin, Treasurer

Sue Fritz, Secretary

Gary Fritz

Charlotte Wendel

Diocesan Delegates

Charlotte Wendel

Laura Mueller, alternate

Youth Group

Charlotte Wendel and BC Franson, Leaders

On hold until teachers would like to step forward

Episcopal Church Women (ECW)

Men of St. James (MOSJ)

Sunday School

Altar Guild

Susan Fritz, Coordinator

Laura Mueller

St. James Choir & Youth Tone Chime Choir

on hold, would welcome a leader

Lay Ministry

Lectors reading the Lessons

Acolytes Youth and Adult

Worship Leaders leading Morning Prayer

Licensed Lay Ministry

Bruce Louwagie

Shannen Louwagie

Laura Mueller

BC Franson

Rosermary Martin

Michael Martin

Eucharistic Visitors visiting those unable to attend services

Rosemary Martin

Eucharistic Ministers (Chalice Bearers)

Gary Fritz